Mistakes happen. When a customer redeems points for a reward by mistake, you may want to offer the option for them to revert this and get their points back.
This article shows how you can set this up for your program.
Enabling self-cancel redemption in widget
To do this:
Navigate to: Display -> Widget -> Widget -> Settings -> Switch to logged in view
Scroll down to the Coupon code area
Check the “Allow customers to self-cancel redemption” box
4. Customize the text on the new fields - related to this action there are 3 text fields you can customize:
5. Save your changes.
How the feature works
Once enabled, a customer now has 15 minutes to cancel a reward if they accidentally redeemed points.
The cancel button will disappear if:
15 minutes have expired
Customer uses coupon code
Once the coupon is canceled:
Points are refunded back to the customer
Reward is removed from the account.
IF Shopify / Bigcommerce - coupon code is also removed / set as canceled, so it cannot be used again. This saves you time since you don’t have to manually cancel the coupon in your e-com backend.